Help with growing Ariocarpus fissuratus from seeds

Use this forum to get advice on growing succulents and keeping them healthy
Ksenija87

Help with growing Ariocarpus fissuratus from seeds

Post by Ksenija87 »

Hi there,

this is my first time growing cacti from seeds, and while with other 'families' as Ferocactus or Astrophytum is going pretty well, with this one I'm puzzled.
The plantulae have grown almost 15 days ago thorns and we're doing great, but in the last 5-6 days they've collapsed (see photos). I planted them in a mixture of 20% cactus soil and 80% river sand; I do water them 2 times a week after they got dry.
Did I do something wrong or it has to be like this? :-k

My bests,

Francesca
Attachments
IMG_1830 copia.jpg
IMG_1830 copia.jpg (379.32 KiB) Viewed 4886 times
IMG_1831 copia.jpg
IMG_1831 copia.jpg (298.18 KiB) Viewed 4886 times
greenknight

Re: Help with growing Ariocarpus fissuratus from seeds

Post by greenknight »

Too much light, not enough moisture. Check out Hanazono's thread on growing Ariocarpus from seed -

http://www.cactiguide.com/forum/viewtop ... 16&t=36913

According to him, Ariocarpus should be light green - too much sun and they turn reddish-brown (like yours), their growth is suppressed, and it takes months for them to recover. He keeps them in soft light and high humidity for the first few years, and gets excellent results.

All cactus seedlings should be kept constantly damp for the first few months, but not too wet - instead of watering twice a week, you should give them a daily misting. Ariocarpus seedlings need more coddling than most, while Ferocactus seedlings are among the toughest and most tolerant.
Spence :mrgreen:
Ksenija87

Post by Ksenija87 »

Thanks a lot for your reply. Oh shoo, I knew there was something wrong... See if I can save them, I hope...
I suppose no fertilizer for a while, right?

Francesca
adetheproducer

Post by adetheproducer »