Transplant shock? Advice needed please!

Trouble shoot problems you are having with your cactus.
ange

Transplant shock? Advice needed please!

Post by ange »

Hello all,

My first post and I'm asking for help already, sorry! :oops:

I'm not very experienced and I'm wondering if my cactus could have transplant shock.
About 7 weeks ago I re potted a lovely unidentified cactus that was pot bound and in very rich soil. I removed all of the old soil and left the cactus un-potted for about a week before potting up into dry, mainly inorganic gritty mix. I kept it out of bright sun and after another week or so I gave it a good watering.
But now it is getting very thin and shriveled looking with paler patches in places. It seems that it's not taking up water as I pushed a wooden skewer into the mix to test for moisture and it came out damp, yet it hasn't been watered for a couple of weeks.

I'm not sure what's gone wrong or how to deal with it. I'm concerned that it's sitting in damp mix whilst apparently not taking water up and I don't want it to rot. Should I remove the cactus from the mix again and dry the mix out before replacing the cactus back in it? This would also give me the opportunity to inspect the roots for signs of rot, but I don't want to go ahead and do it in case it shocks the cactus further and makes things worse. :?

I've only had the cactus less than a year, it was a gift and I don't know how old it is, but it's about 4 inches in diameter and it was plump and doing fine until I re potted it! ](*,)

Any advice would be very welcome please, I really don't want to lose this lovely cactus!

Many thanks. :)
Before re potting
Before re potting
before re potting.jpg (89.29 KiB) Viewed 2299 times
After re potting
After re potting
after re potting.jpg (94.86 KiB) Viewed 2299 times
M.B

Re: Transplant shock? Advice needed please!

Post by M.B »