Cacti weak and falling over

Trouble shoot problems you are having with your cactus.
RoscoeLim

Cacti weak and falling over

Post by RoscoeLim »

Hello folks, this is my first time on the cactus forum.

Recently, my grandma bought me a cactus of which I'm not sure what species it is (help here please). It was potted in the same pot as this golden barrel cacti (the only photo I have focuses on the golden barrel which has since died of overwatering and root rot). After removing the dead one, I left the small cacti alone in the pot (did not have time to repot it and I was worried that the rot might have spread to it).
Original healthy cactus on right
Original healthy cactus on right
12607363_953416958072350_1226638251_n.jpg (40.38 KiB) Viewed 5507 times
Now, weak and falling over
Now, weak and falling over
12648136_953417064739006_752573593_n.jpg (38.99 KiB) Viewed 5507 times
4 weeks later, I returned home (my mom watered the cactus every 10 days in my absence). The cacti had apparently became rather thin and floppy and has fallen over. Upon investigation and repotting, it did not appear to have acquired root rot and appears to be otherwise alive. I have since supported it with a chopstick and floral wire. Is this due to insufficient sunlight (it grew under an old acquarium light under my grandma's care) causing this issue or are there other underlying problems?

The new pot also has drainage at the bottom by the way. If the issue is due to too little light, is there a way to rectify it? The current window spot I have allocated it is the brightest in my house. Due to my housing conditions, I do not have an outdoor area where I can expose it to the sunlight the whole day or provide it with any brighter natural light. I am also worried about the cost, maintaince and looks of artificial lighting and am not sure if I should install such lights for a single cactus plant.