New cactus owner, help please.

Trouble shoot problems you are having with your cactus.
alyeskas

New cactus owner, help please.

Post by alyeskas »

Hi, hello! My cousin recently gifted me with a cactus (at least, I'm pretty sure it's a cactus), and as is very obvious I'm a complete noob at taking care of one. I've had it for about a week and a half now. It was watered right before it was given to me, and I soaked it again a week after on advice from the internet (I let it drain and sit out afterwards). It's been living on my top shelf, right under an east-facing window that's partially shaded by an overhang. I live in the Philippines, and it's October now so the weather is very rainy and mostly overcast, but not too gloomy. I dust it every so often too with a fluffy brush (aka a recycled makeup brush).

I checked up on it this morning and there's an odd brownish-yellow, cakey sort of growth creeping up from the base. It chips off fairly easily when I try scraping at it lightly. I've checked forums but I get confused about what it could be so I wanna ask. It's not a bug problem, that I'm sure of. Can anyone help because I really don't want this little guy to die on me!!

I've attached a photo of what it looks like. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!!
Attachments
DSC_2480.JPG
DSC_2480.JPG (41.96 KiB) Viewed 813 times
iann

Re: New cactus owner, help please.

Post by iann »

Looks like fairly typical corking. Are you sure it is spreading rather than you just noticing now? It doesn't usually spread fast enough to notice in a week. Chipping off doesn't sound good, you're probably damaging the plant by removing scarred parts of its skin. You might possibly have scale, which can be scraped off quite easily, but that's not what the photo looks like.