Damaged Moon Cactus

Trouble shoot problems you are having with your cactus.
Brunoordino

Damaged Moon Cactus

Post by Brunoordino »

Hello everyone, so I'm kinda new to collecting cactuses so I don't know much yet.

My moon cactus looks like it's dying.It has a violet color and is grafted to another cactus. It's bottom part is appparently rotting. I'd like to post pics but it says file too large. It's one of my first cactuses so I'd really like to save it. If I can, can someone teach me how?
Brunoordino

Re: Damaged Moon Cactus

Post by Brunoordino »

Shown below is my cactus. Please gelp, I feel attached to it since it's one of the cactuses that made me love planting.
Attachments
This is my miin cactus. Help!
This is my miin cactus. Help!
_IMG_000000_000000.jpg (52.26 KiB) Viewed 1724 times
hegar

Post by hegar »

I just answered a few questions presented by fellow blog member chiari, who has an almost identical problem with the same kind of plant you do experience, i.e. a Gymnocalycium sp. cactus grafted on a Hylocereus sp. rootstock.
First I cannot tell, if the "Moon Cactus" is dying or not. These plants cannot survive without the Hylocereus rootstock, because they do not produce chlorophyll. So they derive their nutrients and growth from the rootstock plant, which is able to photosynthesize.
I also noted, that your plant has a very similar looking lesion at almost the exact spot (near the graft union) as the one shown by chiari. I wonder, if these two plants were not perhaps grafted at the same nursery.
Now to the condition of your Gymnocalycium graft. Except for the lesion, I do not see anything wrong with it. Are you sure, that the grafted cactus top is really rotting? If the lesion is not increasing in size, no additional lesions are formed, and the cactus does have the same softness or hardness throughout, then things should be OK. If there is a rot, the cactus will quickly become very soft, with the whole center turning to mush.