Please help! cactus turning yellow

Trouble shoot problems you are having with your cactus.
kwl11

Please help! cactus turning yellow

Post by kwl11 »

Hi hi! I have a small cactus (about 4cm tall) that isn't doing so well and I'm having difficultly figuring out what's wrong with it. My sisters gave it to me as a gift. It's been doing well for the past two years, up until this summer when it started turning yellow from the base (since the picture, the very bottom has started turning pinkish). I thought it might be rot because it is somewhat soft, so I took it out of the pot but it isn't as squishy/smelly as expected. My previous cactus died of rot/overwatering, so I've been really careful with this one, only watering it once every two weeks and making sure the pot has a drainage hole.

I also considered corking, but it doesn't seem hard enough and the cactus has shriveled some. I've also wondered if it's just general stress (I'm a university student so I had to take it home for the summer and bring it back to school).

So I'd like to know 1) what the problem might be and 2) if there's a way to save him. Any help would be much appreciated!!
IMG_7383.JPG
IMG_7383.JPG (131.32 KiB) Viewed 846 times
ElieEstephane

Re: Please help! cactus turning yellow

Post by ElieEstephane »

That seems quite normal to me. But the soil looks too "peaty". Wash out the old soil, let the root ball dry for a few days and use a gritty mineral mix and your cactus will grow a whole lot more. Watering should not be scheduled. Water when the soil dries out. That could be 2 days or 2 weeks.
Good luck!
There are more cacti in heaven and earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in your philosophy.
One of the few cactus lovers in Lebanon (zone 11a) :mrgreen:
kwl11

Post by kwl11 »

Thanks so much!! Should I expect the yellow areas to turn green again or is it more likely the damage is permanent?
ElieEstephane

Post by ElieEstephane »