Cactus ID help , please

If you have a cactus plant and need help identifying it, this is the place to post it.
Nopaltzin

Cactus ID help , please

Post by Nopaltzin »

Hello everyone ,
I'm a proud new owner of two new cacti after having been an admirer of this plant family for a long time (Lived a long time in the most biodiverse country for cacti so have enormous affection for them ) so its wonderful to find a forum dedicated to these incredible plants.

Nevertheless, I'm a total newby to cacti owning and my attempts to identify the species using the ID guide has been unsuccessful. I'm a student of conservation biology /ecology and having the plants on my desk yet not knowing the species is driving me mad ](*,) as I like to imagine the region they are from and to visualise the ecosystem and landscape.

I think one of them (the rotund one) is a mammillaria but I'm not 100% sure and I have no idea what species the other plant is.

I was wondering if anyone on the forum would be able to take a look at the photos and see if they know what species these are, any help in identification would be much appreciated ! :D
rsz_cacti_id_ (3).jpg
rsz_cacti_id_ (3).jpg (67.95 KiB) Viewed 842 times
ElieEstephane

Re: Cactus ID help , please

Post by ElieEstephane »

Left is polaskia chende and right is mammillaria. A photo in more lihht would help identify the species
There are more cacti in heaven and earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in your philosophy.
One of the few cactus lovers in Lebanon (zone 11a) :mrgreen:
Nopaltzin

Post by Nopaltzin »

Thank you ever so much for this ElieEstephane :) , I really appreciate it. Its very cool to know that the polaskia is a Oaxaqueño. I will take a clearer picture of the mamillaria later and upload it. Once again thank you for your help.
Salazar

Post by Salazar »

The other one doesn't look like a Mammillaria; a Parodia perhaps.
Nopaltzin

Post by Nopaltzin »