Camera advice?

Discuss cameras, settings, composition, or anything related to photography - cactus or other subjects.
lancer99

Camera advice?

Post by lancer99 »

I'm looking for something to replace my Canon SD970 IS, which went for a swim and is no longer functional.

I'm thinking about the new Canon SD1400 IS, which seems like a slightly-upgraded version of the SD790. Of course, with a different battery :(

Any advice?

My only criteria are price (below $250) and good macro mode.

Thx,
-R
CoronaCactus

Post by CoronaCactus »

I've been using the SD1200 IS for a few years now. I like it. Good macro mode. Good amount of adjustable settings. Battery lasts a long time. I'd imagine the SD1400 IS is even better, so it gets my vote. Just not the pink one, mmmkay ;)
lancer99

Post by lancer99 »

Thx Darryl.

Until the camera companies come out with the pimped-out models with rows of flashing LEDs, I'll stick to basic silver :)

-R
lancer99

Post by lancer99 »

Ordered! In black, not silver.

Expect a lot of posts, starting in about a week :)

-R
CoronaCactus

Post by CoronaCactus »

Sweet!
Hope some will be of Opuntia ;)
daiv
Site Admin

Post by daiv »

That camera seems like good quality. I was impressed with the weight and feel of it. Metal body instead of plastic. Seems durable. I think you made a good decision.
All Cacti are succulents, but not all succulents are Cacti
lancer99

Post by lancer99 »

Probably no opuntia flower pics, unless my Tephrocactus molinensis cooperates. Maybe some growth pics, like a 2" Maihueniopsis nigrispina with ten new pads!

The real reason I was compelled is that there is so much fantastic action going on in the g/h. Madagascan Euphorbias like E. mahabobokensis/E. hedyotoides/E. bongolavensis are flowering (for me) for the first time.

And that's just the start :)

-R
lancer99

Post by lancer99 »