What's wrong with my E. micromeris???

Trouble shoot problems you are having with your cactus.
Steve Johnson

What's wrong with my E. micromeris???

Post by Steve Johnson »

Mr. "Hey, I'm an Epithelantha Expert" is feeling about as tall as his micromeris at the moment...

After going through some worry about establishing mine over last year's growing season, I was so pleased to see how good it looked in Spring. Here's the micromeris at the height of its flowering and plumpness in early May:

Then it started to shrivel again. I won't bore y'all with the details on watering frequency, but I'll just say that I haven't been over-watering. However, I was back to being concerned when the micromeris wasn't storing up water again. Maybe just concentrating on more root growth? The neck retreats under the surface between waterings, so when the neck appears after the plant gets watered, it's a promising sign that the roots are still working. Now here's the micromeris as of today:

Last watering was Saturday night, and we see the top of the neck popping up again (green arrow). Not bad, but what distresses me was a new development I detected yesterday evening -- not good at all. The red circles indicate what appear to be a band of shriveled tubercles. FYI that's the plant's northern exposure, but not the worst of it. Here's the worst: