Brown Spots on Gymno Spegazzini

Trouble shoot problems you are having with your cactus.
hendryterok

Brown Spots on Gymno Spegazzini

Post by hendryterok »

All,
Im having problem with brown spots on my Gymno Spegazzini, any tips how to handle?
Thanks in advance.
Picts attached

Regards,
hendry
Attachments
Spegazzini.JPG
Spegazzini.JPG (102.77 KiB) Viewed 1335 times
Spegazzini1.JPG
Spegazzini1.JPG (97.82 KiB) Viewed 1335 times
Spegazzini2.JPG
Spegazzini2.JPG (108.35 KiB) Viewed 1335 times
Steve Johnson

Re: Brown Spots on Gymno Spegazzini

Post by Steve Johnson »

hendryterok wrote:All,
Im having problem with brown spots on my Gymno Spegazzini, any tips how to handle?
Thanks in advance.
Picts attached

Regards,
hendry
Ooh, I think you have flat mites -- see this Wikipedia article for more info. I have some experience with this pest, and unfortunately you won't even know you have them until after the damage has been done. If you have access to a 10X magnifier, you'll be able to see them as teeny tiny oblong things (mine looked orange). Flat mites don't move around much, although you can see them crawling along as they find places to attach on the skin.

Unless you know for sure that you don't have flat mites, I would recommend mist-spraying with alcohol (isopropyl, methylated spirits, or whatever. Doesn't matter -- alcohol is alcohol). Flat mites don't reproduce as quickly as red spider mites, so spraying every 2 weeks is fine. Just make sure that you keep the plant away from direct sunlight when you spray. And keep at it until the infestation is over, then spray a few more times just to be extra sure. My only caution is that the waxy skin on some cactus species can be disfigured by alcohol sprays. I don't know if Gymno spegazzini is affected that way, so hopefully someone else on the forum can pick this up and let us know either way.