Spongy cactus with healthy roots

Trouble shoot problems you are having with your cactus.
abhikjha

Spongy cactus with healthy roots

Post by abhikjha »

Hi all,

I am new to cactus growing. I live in Mumbai, India. Recently, in one of my cactus Mammilaria Unpico, I observed that it is not firm (rather it's spongy). Since, I watered it few days ago, my immediate concern was rot, so I took it out of wet pot, roots looked fine to me (pics attached). Nonetheless, I treated it with H2O2 and fungicide, kept in a shady but ventilated area for a day and then potted it in a dry soil. I haven't given water since then(around a week) and it has been kept on South facing window. But it still hasn't gotten firm as yet. Is this because of underwatering?

Please help me in saving the plant.

https://ibb.co/KNk6CCy
https://ibb.co/rFRDS1W
Tropical weather, no winters! :roll:
The_Nikon_Guy

Re: Spongy cactus with healthy roots

Post by The_Nikon_Guy »

I too had the same issue of spongy cactus but very healthy roots. I think in my case, I kept the cactus too dry for too long and therefore was taking a verrry long time to develop hair roots for absorbing water/nutrients.
My solution to this was to use hydroponics and rejuvenate the root system. It worked well for a month and then when I went to put the cactus back into the soil it shrivelled up a bit initially and then recovered quite nicely.
The big assumption here is that you do NOT have any existing rot on your root system
Never argue with fools. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience...
The_Nikon_Guy

Post by The_Nikon_Guy »

Another reason cactus gets spongy is due to application of too much Nitrogen. Generally for cactus I use a 2:10:10 raio (NPK) mix.
Never argue with fools. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience...
abhikjha

Post by abhikjha »

Thanks a lot for the reply.