White patches on pads

Trouble shoot problems you are having with your cactus.
Terse

White patches on pads

Post by Terse »

I got this from Homebase on the 25th of June. The pot just said opuntia with the name of the pot, I think it’s Opuntia microdasys. It lives by my bedroom window which is south facing. I gave it a tiny bit of rainwater when I got it since I didn’t know when last it had been watered and I planned to water it next week. I’ve noticed white patches on the pads and they are starting to look bad. Does anyone know what’s going on? I’m quite new to this.

Have I messed up already?
Northampton, UK
jerrytheplater

Re: White patches on pads

Post by jerrytheplater »

Looks like Mealy Bugs. I know a 2% soap solution will kill them. Insecticidal soap is sold in our stores over here. Same stuff. You may have to respray weekly for a while.
Jerry Smith
Bloomingdale, NJ
45 inches (114 cm) rain equivalent per year, approx. evenly spread per month
2012 USDA Hardiness Zone 6b: -5F to OF (-20C to -18C) min.
Minnesota
Location: St. Louis Park, MN. Zone 4b, Great Plains/Upper Midwest

Post by Minnesota »

I tend to agree with Jerry's assessment: the appearance of the white, fuzzy, powdery spots looks like mealies. I was given an Opuntia microdasys six months ago with these, and it took multiple weeks of spraying with an insecticide with isolation to eradicate them. You might want to unpot to check the lower stem and roots before you begin spraying to know the extent of what you're dealing with. If it is mealy bug, even when you don't see them anymore is not a reason to believe they are eradicated; maintain your course until you are certain these critters are gone. They are highly communicable to other plants in sizes not noticeable.

Best of luck,

Bret
Steve Johnson

Post by Steve Johnson »

Hello Terse,