Growing Stetsonia coryne outside (Phoenix, AZ)

Discuss hardy cacti grown outside all year.
deserthozho

Growing Stetsonia coryne outside (Phoenix, AZ)

Post by deserthozho »

8) Just purchased a 15" tall S.coryne to add to my Sonoran Desert property. There are a variety of Cholla, Opuntia and other cacti growing naturally on the property, but I want to add some quick growing columnar cacti. I'm new to the desert and to growing cacti outdoors - I'd like advice on any soil amendments needed, watering, fertilizing, etc. I'd also like opinions on the speed of growth of Stetsonia coryne, as I've read conflicting reports from very fast to very slow.
daiv
Site Admin

Post by daiv »

Oh man, you are in Cactus paradise! You've got so share some pictures with us!

You should not have to make any changes to the soil and only water sparingly if you want to help them along. Most columnar cacti will do just fine for you. The smaller globular cacti would probably be hit and miss for you. Have you been to the Desert Botanical Garden on the east end of town? Here is a bunch of pictures I took there:

http://www.cactiguide.com/piclocation_d ... enix,%20AZ

This is a must see for any cacti enthusiast. You will note a large S. coryne in the collection. There are also some large tree Opuntia's that you might want to try. Those are really neat, fast growing, and not your every day type of plant.

I think the speed at which a cactus grows sometimes depends on the plant. I've had some that grow like crazy and then the same type right next to it plod along. I would say give a plant in the ground a couple growing seasons. If one is not growing dig it up and reset it. Maybe even wack off a few roots, but be discerning before you do.
All Cacti are succulents, but not all succulents are Cacti
murmanator

Post by murmanator »