Timelapse

Discuss cameras, settings, composition, or anything related to photography - cactus or other subjects.
Isometric

Timelapse

Post by Isometric »

I'm sorry to disappoint those who were looking for a timelapse video in this message, but actually I'm looking for some advice in this topic.

I want to make videos of the cacti bodies rather than the flowers, which are much more common. In fact I don't think I've ever seen a cactus timelapse video. I know how to do it technically, but not how to do it well practically. I've seen the behind the scenes for The Life of Plants and that wouldn't be feasible for amateurs like me.

I plan to take one picture/month, stepping up to once/week in the summer and possible more frequently for fast growing species. I will do this for a few decades, at least until I run out of interest (unlikely) or I get too busy for it. But while I'm studying full time, I think I can spare one day/month for the next four years. I think one full day should be enough, for 200-250 plants, but I think I would need a good set up for it to work efficiently. The problem will be to have the plants in the same position as last time. I think it would be confusing to have a timelapse video where the plant keeps rotating or the camera angle keeps changing, or maybe not if the differences are not so severe, I don't know.

I will have three months break soon and I would love some advice and experiences on this subject. This marries my passion for cacti and succulents with my recently developed interest for photography (buying a Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L IS USM Macro among others). I'm so excited.
Paralysis by analysis...sigh
paul280981

Post by paul280981 »