orocereus celsianus lacking spines

Discuss repotting, soil, lighting, fertilizing, watering, etc. in this category.
beba

orocereus celsianus lacking spines

Post by beba »

Hi there!
My old man from the andes is my favorite cactus. I have a concern about it: it is growing but the new growths don't have spines, only hair. I read that the spines grow to protect it from the sun. Does it mean that my cactus is not getting enogh sun? Would it help to put it in a position where it gets as much as direct sun as possible? (being in London it's a bit difficult!). I thought though it doesn't need direct sun light. Is it correct?
I am new to growing cacti and a bit confused :?
Thanks for your help.
Barbara
hob

Post by hob »

i would think full sun in the uk would be fine
I thought though it doesn't need direct sun light. Is it correct?
just about all cacti like a bit of direct sunlight.....yours would be happy to be in the sun most of the time....maybe a little shade in the afternoon.

welcome to cactiguide :D
incurable cactoholic
growing rebutia's with a mix of others.
daiv
Site Admin

Post by daiv »

That species does very much like full sun. The more the better! You might want to be careful not to give it too much too soon, but lots of sun for sure!

Daiv
Oh and welcome from me too!
All Cacti are succulents, but not all succulents are Cacti
beba

Post by beba »

thanks for your replies, guys... the problem is that in London-and it's August- there is NO sun! I am as depressed as my cacti :cry:
hob

Post by hob »

not much sun 100 miles north of you either today :(
incurable cactoholic
beba

Post by beba »

Hi Hob,
Do your cacti do well in Suffolk? Are you growing them indoors or outdoors? I don't have a garden so mine are indoors and I put them on windowsills when there is some sun. Should I leave them outside at night?
hob

Post by hob »

beba wrote:Hi Hob,