Growing Echinocactus Polycephalus (Any advice?)

All about seed grown plants. How-to information, progress reports, show of your results.
Nexuswalker

Growing Echinocactus Polycephalus (Any advice?)

Post by Nexuswalker »

Hey all,

I am relatively new to the world of cacti and very amateur in the art of growing them from seed. In my haste to find and try to grow pink cacti I ordered some Echinocactus Polycephalus seeds. I then found out these cacti have a reputation for being hard to cultivate :S

I am interested to hear from people who have experience growing this cacti from seed (what worked and what didn't) and also please let me know what type of climate you live in as I know this is very important.

I live in Central Queensland in Australia, it is a humid and relatively warm spot of the world in which I find most cacti grow great. The rainfall is somewhat higher than most deserts (especially the Sonoran and Mojave of which this species is from) although my outdoor garden is in a rocky outcrop on top of a hill with amazingly well draining soil.

Lincoln
peterb

Re: Growing Echinocactus Polycephalus (Any advice?)

Post by peterb »

Welcome. This will be something of a challenge, but a few basics will help. Keep very warm (about 88F) and moist until germination of a good portion of the seed has taken place, about half or so. Then begin to let dry out at regular intervals. Provide good light. Sow in very gritty, mineral mix with absolutely no organics. Go easy on them and don't try to push them. They are from areas of biseasonal rains, so if it is warm during the day in winter they like some water from time to time. The deserts where they are from are cool to cold with light frosts overnight and much warmer days in winter. Then the summers are very hot indeed, with warm nights. They burst into growth in the spring and are dormant most of the summer, apart from flowering. They are relatively slow from seed but develop beautiful spines in strong light.