my seedlings

All about seed grown plants. How-to information, progress reports, show of your results.
cjbaker

my seedlings

Post by cjbaker »

I planted these Astrophytum asterias v. Super Kabuto on October 15th with seed from World Seed Supply. This is my first attempt at growing cactus from seed, though I tried and failed with lithops many years ago. All five of the seeds have germinated, though only three are really visible in the picture. They're enjoying our last few frost-free weeks up on my roof in a baggy. They seem to be getting slightly pink, which I assume is good and due to the abundant sunlight. I plan to graft them to Pereskiopsis in late winter. I realize now after reading more that the soil might be too fine...oh well, I guess I'll see how they do. I'll get some cat litter and other fancy soil ingredients next time. Another pot with Epithelantha micromeris has not yet germinated, and my lithops seedlings don't photograph well through the baggy, but I'll post some once they're bigger. Any advice is welcome!
DSC_2894_cropped.jpg
DSC_2894_cropped.jpg (90.3 KiB) Viewed 6092 times
Craig [my pictures]
CactIda

Re: my seedlings

Post by CactIda »

Wow look at that. How exciting :) good luck with them and keep updating!
cjbaker

Post by cjbaker »

Thanks for the encouragement, Ida! I finally found some diatomaceous earth in the form of Moltan UltraSorb at AutoZone, as recommended on these forums, and I've seeded four more pots with it, 2/3 UltraSorb and 1/3 ordinary potting soil. I'll post some pictures once they've sprouted.

I sowed Trichocerus pachanoi which I plan to use some day as a grafting stock for the others, when they outgrow Pereskiopsis. For now my mail-ordered pereskiopsis cuttings haven't showed any signs of growth after three weeks in moist soil. I had this problem years ago the last time I tried to root pereskiopsis, maybe I should start a new thread for advice.