Cactus without roots

Discuss repotting, soil, lighting, fertilizing, watering, etc. in this category.
MadridPeter

Cactus without roots

Post by MadridPeter »

Hello all! I ordered this plant from Germany which is a huascha hybrid and it shipped with no roots ..can anyone tell me what I should do? How do I encourage roots to sprout? Should I simply put it in a pot? And water it straight off and then leave it for a period? I have no idea so any input would be much appreciated!!
Attachments
Base
Base
image.jpg (23.06 KiB) Viewed 5042 times
Upper
Upper
image.jpg (31.42 KiB) Viewed 5042 times
jmoney

Re: Cactus without roots

Post by jmoney »

My first inclination would be to tell you to just pot it and see what happens. The other option is to turn it into a cutting and try to root it. So make a nice straight cut removing the brown part on the bottom with a clean, sharp knife, let it callous over, and then pot it.

I am only a cactus amateur so I would stick with the first option until you hear from another member.fI'd hate for you to cut the cactus if you don't have to but if it was my cactus, I would be lopping off that brown part.
Budding cactus enthusiast

Twitter: jmoneypn
Instagram: jmoneypn
BarryRice

Post by BarryRice »

I've got lots of experience with this genus/species.

I must say--your specimen is a little depressing. I'm concerned about the dead looking base.

I'd cut off the base so the new base of the stem is not at all discolored. Stand it up in an empty pot in bright but not burning light for about a week to let it air out and heal, then plant it in perfectly-draining dry mix--like pure pumice. After about two weeks, give it a spot of water every week. Err on the side of under watering. Dig it out from time to time if you're curious. As soon as real roots appear, put it in normal medium and treat as a mature plant.

This method works for me with essentially 100% success.
I'll grow it as long as it doesn't have glochids. Gaudy flowers a plus.