my cacti collection

Anything relating to Cacti or CactiGuide.com that doesn't fit in another category should be posted under General.
Conan

my cacti collection

Post by Conan »

Hi,
I'm quite new to the hobby, but I wanted to share my collection with the world, so here it is. :)

If you'd like to identify any, please go ahead, as I really don't have a clue what I have :P

This is my entire collection:

This is a focus on the top portion:

And this is a focus on the bottom portion:
templegatejohn

Post by templegatejohn »

Hi Conan,

You have a nice varied collection there. If you could do some close up photographs it would help tremendously, but from what I can see I will try a few: The one at top left could be Stenocereus pruinosus but I can't see it well enough to get a positive ID. The one with the 'goat' looks like a young Opuntia monacantha variegata, common name Joseph's Coat. The one directly below it looks like a young Echinocactus grusonii. The one on the same level next to the blue pot is a species of Haworthia (this is a succulent). The larger of the two plants below it is a Gymnocalcycium maybe gibbosum, can't see it well enough to confirm. The two red headed plants on grafts are Gymnocalycium mihanovichii 'Hibotan'. These will only grow on a graft as they lack chlorophyll. The two plants on the bottom right are: the left hand one is Mammillaria elongata and the right hand one although a little indistinct looks like Cereus peruvianus monstrose.

If you can get some closer pictures I could make more positive ID's.

Cheers,

John
Conan

Let me make a recap...

Post by Conan »

I'll do a recap since I plan on making a document with the proper names so I won't forget what plant I have.

the left one is a Stenocereus pruinosus and the right one is not identified. The left one will flower when much bigger, several feet tall.