Parodia rudibuenekeri

Multiplying your cacti vegetatively.
NoddaProbBob

Parodia rudibuenekeri

Post by NoddaProbBob »

Hi!
I am fairly new to cacti cultivation and growing. I came upon this forum as my grafted cactus had gotten over watered due to a storm. It was a hydrocelous/Parodia rudibuenekeri graft. The hydrocelous burst, but I was able to save the Parodia. This was several weeks ago. Unfortunately, due to some other extenuating circumstances, the Parodia shriveled and rotted.

Is it possible to plant any of its remains with the hope of maybe regrowing a new one in a few months? Or is it too far gone/diseased to matter. I wasn't sure if you could pull off all the spines and plant them together. I have brand new fresh, healthy soil.

I really like this type of Parodia specifically so I'm hopeful I can regrow it. If not, I'll try and get a new one I suppose. I'm actually pretty bummed that it's gone...it had personal meaning for me. So if I could somehow salvage anything, that would be a positive!

Thanks!
gemhunter178

Re: Parodia rudibuenekeri

Post by gemhunter178 »

A picture would greatly help in terms of seeing the extent of the damage, but if the plant is completely shriveled and rotted (no living, healthy material) then I don't see any easy way of bringing it back short of crazy science-y cloning or something.
Spines by themselves are 'dead' and are not alive, and even new, living spines cannot by grafted or propagated (as far as I know)

You may be able to check if the plant made seeds in the past though - if you see what looks like dried out flowers you should split them open and try your luck.
A cactus and succulent collector who especially likes Ariocarpus. …Though I have a bit of everything! Want some pictures? See my flickr! I also do art and such.
NoddaProbBob

Post by NoddaProbBob »