Advice for my first seedlings

All about seed grown plants. How-to information, progress reports, show of your results.
Sun_Love

Advice for my first seedlings

Post by Sun_Love »

Hello! I'm a newbie at this and new to the forum :) I've always loved cactuses but only now decided to try and plant seeds. I've been reading on this forum AFTER I already planted them, so I did not do the baggie method. Instead seeds were planted and have had a plastic film on top of the pots. I have misted the soil every day to keep it moist.
Does the progress look good or not? They are 2 weeks old. The ones in the upper pic, I felt that they grew more in the beginning and less the last few days? Is that normal?
Since I didn't do the proper bag method, should I maybe plant them in a normal pot now and take it from there? Or is that too early? I would like to avoid anymore of that green stuff around them..
Upper pot: Gymnocalycium monvillei
lower pots: Rebutia krainziana
Attachments
20200518_124809xx.jpg
20200518_124809xx.jpg (104.63 KiB) Viewed 2312 times
20200518_124800xx.jpg
20200518_124800xx.jpg (99.47 KiB) Viewed 2312 times
greenknight

Re: Advice for my first seedlings

Post by greenknight »

They look like they're doing well. It's normal for growth to slow after the initial burst of seedling growth, no need to worry about that. Best not to disturb them early on if you don't have to, just keep doing what you have been.
Spence :mrgreen:
Sun_Love

Post by Sun_Love »

Thank you :) that's good to know! I'll leave them, and just try to remove the green pieces of perlite.
greenknight

Post by greenknight »

You've got some algae growing around the seedlings - it shows more on the perlite, but it's not only there, no point in removing the green pieces of perlite. It won't hurt the cacti, don't worry about it.
Sun_Love

Post by Sun_Love »

OK great, I'll leave it.
Bonus question: when do I start to fertilize and how often?