Nerd Alert: Watering - Sep 3 Update!

Discuss repotting, soil, lighting, fertilizing, watering, etc. in this category.
From0to10in2weeks

Nerd Alert: Watering - Sep 3 Update!

Post by From0to10in2weeks »

Hi,

As a newbie I was at the beginning not sure about the watering schedule for the cacti I bought in June. After reading a bit here and elsewhere, I settled on a 10 day bottom soak protocol. But it bugged me not knowing if it was too long or too short. And frankly, with the exception of one plant I wasn’t sure if the cacti were growing at all. So, before the last watering I decided to weigh the pots, and then weight them again every 24 hours to monitor the change over a 10 day period.

Processes associated with weight changes relative to the weight before watering are:
- Evaporation (loss)
- Plant uptake (gain)
- Plant growth (gain)

Here, is a plot of the pot weight relative to before watering on Aug 5 over the last 10 days for a total of 14 plants. The weather during that period was rather warm (30s Celsius) and sunny. The plants are indoors on an east-facing window bank getting plenty of morning sun, and they’ll catch direct unfiltered sunlight for about 1-1.5 hours when I open an adjacent south-east facing window around noon.
Kakteen all.jpg
Kakteen all.jpg (56.53 KiB) Viewed 1875 times
Number 5 in this plot is an obvious outlier among the cacti as its weight changes very differently from all the others. This is a G. baldianum that has been producing flower buds since I bought it in June. So, it clearly gains weight in addition to losses from evaporation during this time period. Further, this plant is the only one that is still in its original soil. All the others have been repotted in a mixture of Seramis Kaktus Substrate and a peat-free soil (2:1). So, the drying behaviour is certainly different as well.