I accidentally broke my haworthia cooperi

Anything relating to Succulents that doesn't fit in another category should be posted under General.
softestpants

I accidentally broke my haworthia cooperi

Post by softestpants »

yesterday i was unboxing the h. cooperi i bought online. after finally opening the packaging i was slowly and carefully removing the dried leaves but then it snapped of into two pieces. i panicked real hard and i didnt know what to do because i really didnt wanna add another number to my plant kill count, specially because he just arrived to me and im new to this. since i was panicking and was extremely worried about him rotting so i planted him immediately and put him in front of a fan while the upper part i put it on a shady but bright windowsill because its windy on that part. on hindsight, it was probably not the best course of action but i was panicking. i live in a tropical country, been cool and windy these days. is he gonna live? how do i know if he rooted after a few weeks? what should i do with the fallen leaves? i planted him in probably 40/60 potting soil and pumice. dont know if its the real count since i was too panicky to count. the upper part is outside and he seems to be properly dried too. i couldnt provide pictures because im very new to this site and i dont know how to, and i apologize for that. i dont know how it happens but i sure hope someone can give me answers to my questions :idea:
greenknight

Re: I accidentally broke my haworthia cooperi

Post by greenknight »

Relax, Haworthias root easily. Moderate temperatures are perfect, that's when they grow - when it's neither too hot or too cold. Shady but bright is the right idea, no direct sun. See: https://www.haworthia.com/rooting/
Spence :mrgreen:
softestpants

Post by softestpants »