Prune or trim roots Question?

Anything relating to Cacti or CactiGuide.com that doesn't fit in another category should be posted under General.
JCcares

Prune or trim roots Question?

Post by JCcares »

Someone in Thailand he has a cactus farm told me I should “trim” the roots of my new cacti. See image below.

I am new at this and I guess the fact I am just asking this Question means I am not sure about if I should or shouldn’t trim the roots before potting them Wednesday?

Thank you 🙏🏽

All but 2 if these 8 new plants have flowers.
9BB358D3-7FEF-41E3-A0E1-85D103B34AF0.jpeg
9BB358D3-7FEF-41E3-A0E1-85D103B34AF0.jpeg (284.68 KiB) Viewed 2132 times
Attachments
8DA8C18B-1F8C-4DA8-82CA-FDFC010FBC6B.jpeg
8DA8C18B-1F8C-4DA8-82CA-FDFC010FBC6B.jpeg (331.03 KiB) Viewed 2132 times
DAACA7D5-C691-47C6-911A-4C339BD55546.jpeg
DAACA7D5-C691-47C6-911A-4C339BD55546.jpeg (70.37 KiB) Viewed 2132 times
My name is Joe I Live in Hickory NC USA four equal perfect seasons.
Aeonium2003

Re: Prune or trim roots Question?

Post by Aeonium2003 »

I have no idea why anyone would do that. It would leave an open wound for pathogens to get in, and might cause rot.
Steve Johnson

Post by Steve Johnson »

Only reason for trimming the roots is if you clean them and some of the roots are obviously dead. Unfortunately the difference between dead and alive may not be obvious to new growers, although it's a bit easier to tell in the growing season.

Joe, it looks like the roots of your new cacti should be cleaned more thoroughly, so I'll recommend that you follow the steps I described here:

https://www.cactiguide.com/forum/viewto ... 45#p394245

About 10 years ago, I lost a few wonderful cacti precisely because I failed to "deep-clean" the roots as I should've -- another hard lesson learned, and I've found that it's definitely worth taking the time to be thorough about the cleaning process.
If you just want photos without all the blather, please visit my Flickr gallery.