Help Replanting

Use this forum to get advice on growing succulents and keeping them healthy
j1223aw

Help Replanting

Post by j1223aw »

Please let me know the best way to replant this. I have been growing it for 5 years as you can see from the picture it fell over. I want to know the best way to replant it to have the strongest base. Also do you think both parts can be replanted.

Thanks
Attachments
San Pedro1.jpg
San Pedro1.jpg (50.97 KiB) Viewed 1653 times
San Pedro2.jpg
San Pedro2.jpg (84.58 KiB) Viewed 1653 times
San Pedro3.jpg
San Pedro3.jpg (51.99 KiB) Viewed 1653 times
San Pedro4.jpg
San Pedro4.jpg (56.83 KiB) Viewed 1653 times
San Pedro5.jpg
San Pedro5.jpg (50.97 KiB) Viewed 1653 times
San Pedro6.jpg
San Pedro6.jpg (56.58 KiB) Viewed 1653 times
San Pedro7.jpg
San Pedro7.jpg (40.56 KiB) Viewed 1653 times
San Pedro8.jpg
San Pedro8.jpg (100.01 KiB) Viewed 1653 times
jerrytheplater

Re: Help Replanting

Post by jerrytheplater »

Did your plant rot and fall over? Was it all one piece before? What do the surfaces look like on the two pieces? Brown and mushy? You have to cut back till you remove all the discoloration. Sterilize the knife between cuts.
Jerry Smith
Bloomingdale, NJ
45 inches (114 cm) rain equivalent per year, approx. evenly spread per month
2012 USDA Hardiness Zone 6b: -5F to OF (-20C to -18C) min.
j1223aw

Post by j1223aw »

the rounder part was under the soil. Once I emptied the pot it appeared to be rotted. but it has roots. it was all originally 1 piece when I originally planted it but since it was growing thin at the base I put the bottom under the soil. One part the round part looks brown and mushy the other part the thin long part looks like a root that was once connected to the bottom that was under the soil. Can I just plant the root at the bottom on the long thin part or do I have to cut for sure? how to I plant it to ensure the base grows wide and it doesn't grown tall again and fall over? How deep do I need to plant it?