Is it is or is it aint my Lobivia hertrichiana?

If you have a cactus plant and need help identifying it, this is the place to post it.
nachtkrabb

Is it is or is it aint my Lobivia hertrichiana?

Post by nachtkrabb »

Hi folks,

these days I have learned that some of my cacti had wrong names. Now I have stumbled across another candidate: Is this really a Lobivia hertrichiana?
It has that short spines, near the crown none. The buds are black balls of wool (see 2nd picture) and it flowers in three shades of pink.
Thank you says
Nachtkrabb
Danke.jpg
Danke.jpg (154.74 KiB) Viewed 1009 times
LobiviaHertrichiana-273-Bluete-IMG_0500_ergebnis.JPG
LobiviaHertrichiana-273-Bluete-IMG_0500_ergebnis.JPG (155.55 KiB) Viewed 1009 times
Love and Revolution!
...and still more cacti.
Pd1973

Re: Is it is or is it aint my Lobivia hertrichiana?

Post by Pd1973 »

it looks wonderful, it is possible that it is a echinopsis hybrid, but I am not an expert. It looks wonderful.
greenknight

Post by greenknight »

Likely one of its parents was hertrichiana.
Spence :mrgreen:
phil_SK

Post by phil_SK »

This looks like L. hertrichiana to me.
nachtkrabb

Post by nachtkrabb »

Thanks, but... isn't L. hertrichiana supposed to have longer, denser spines...?
Is the colour of the flower "normal"? :?:
Love and Revolution!
...and still more cacti.
DaveW

Post by DaveW »

Lobivia is one of the most variable genera. both flower colour and spination can often vary within a species, so making identification difficult. Also we tend to cultivate an original clone in cultivation which may not show all the variation in habitat. When new clones are imported from habitat they may look different to our original one. Plus many in cultivation may have been hybridised too.

Images will enlarge if clicked on:-

https://www.kaktusy-sukulenty-masozravk ... trichiana/
anttisepp

Post by anttisepp »

Very pretty plant, very close to hertrichiana. It may also be in some relation with cinnabarina and maybe arachnacantha.