Tips on germinating Echinocactus texensis seeds?

Discuss repotting, soil, lighting, fertilizing, watering, etc. in this category.
Kira

Tips on germinating Echinocactus texensis seeds?

Post by Kira »

Hello, cactus friends!
I've been reading the forum for a while but this is my first post. Nice to meet you! I live in Texas and I harvested fresh seeds today from Echinocactus texensis (a.k.a.Homalocephala texensis). I have read that other species in this genus can be difficult to germinate so I am looking for advice on how to treat these seeds. For example, Hana said that E. horiznthalonius benefit from aging, but is that true for this species also? If so, should I age them in the refrigerator or age them at room temperature? I am new to cactus seed germination and have just recently tried the baggie method for the first time. My first batch of seeds emerged from 12 weeks in the freezer a week ago and a couple of them have germinated. No mold so far!
Thanks, everyone!
Kira
Steve Johnson

Re: Tips on germinating Echinocactus texensis seeds?

Post by Steve Johnson »

Kira wrote: Wed Sep 14, 2022 8:28 pm Hello, cactus friends!
I've been reading the forum for a while but this is my first post. Nice to meet you! I live in Texas and I harvested fresh seeds today from Echinocactus texensis (a.k.a.Homalocephala texensis). I have read that other species in this genus can be difficult to germinate so I am looking for advice on how to treat these seeds. For example, Hana said that E. horiznthalonius benefit from aging, but is that true for this species also? If so, should I age them in the refrigerator or age them at room temperature? I am new to cactus seed germination and have just recently tried the baggie method for the first time. My first batch of seeds emerged from 12 weeks in the freezer a week ago and a couple of them have germinated. No mold so far!
Thanks, everyone!
Kira
You might want to post this in the Grown From Seed forum: