Arrojadoa bahiensis?

If you have a cactus plant and need help identifying it, this is the place to post it.
ColinTheCactus

Arrojadoa bahiensis?

Post by ColinTheCactus »

Hello All.

I have a cactus that has grown in 10 years from a small Santa themed novelty to the specimen shown here.

I am new to cacti but I am thinking "Colin the Cactus" is Arrojadoa bahiensis. Please correct me if I am wrong.

Also, he has a fat top end but a skinny waist. I would like Colin to be nicely proportioned but I don't know whether to water or leave to dry out a bit. Any guidance gratefully received.

Last year he had just one flower, this year he has had 4 so must be doing well.

I am wanting to repot Colin so I assume that I remove the pups, put in a larger pot in some proper cactus soil.
20230701_152043.jpg
20230701_152043.jpg (75.81 KiB) Viewed 928 times
Attachments
20230722_155306.jpg
20230722_155306.jpg (75.13 KiB) Viewed 928 times
20230722_155259.jpg
20230722_155259.jpg (63.29 KiB) Viewed 928 times
santa-cactus-b6b.jpg
santa-cactus-b6b.jpg (63.09 KiB) Viewed 928 times
ohugal

Re: Arrojadoa bahiensis?

Post by ohugal »

Looks more like a Parodia magnifica.
temperate, maritime climate with mild winters and cool summers
hardiness zone 8a
Minnesota
Location: St. Louis Park, MN. Zone 4b, Great Plains/Upper Midwest

Post by Minnesota »

Impressive growth over a decade--I like Colin, just as he is. You must be doing something right; Colin looks great. Continue what you're doing. Others should chime in on soil/potting medium, care, and fertilization. Colin flowering is a good sign of great care. If I had the choice, I would transplant next spring without removing the pups (but that's just me).

Thank you for sharing handsome Colin.
greenknight

Post by greenknight »

ohugal wrote: Wed Jul 26, 2023 6:08 pm Looks more like a Parodia magnifica.