Zac's Cacti

This is a place for members to post on-going topics about their plants and experiences.
zpeckler

Zac's Cacti

Post by zpeckler »

Hello all!

I've been growing cactus seriously since 2016 and have amassed a modest-sized collection of mostly North American desert cacti. I've moved around a bit during that time, but for the last four years I've settled back in my home state of California outside Chico in the Sacramento Valley. The climate here is definitely Mediterranean, with very hot, dry summers and cool, moist, rainy winters. Average temps in summer are consistently in the 90's, frequently in the 100's, and rarely in the 110's. Winter temps basically never get below freezing, and rarely even into the 30's.
Cactus habitat.jpg
Cactus habitat.jpg (359.35 KiB) Viewed 3939 times
I grow my cacti outside on a home-made elevated shelf. I have a little metal frame over it that I hang my shade cloth in summer, and plastic to protect from rain in winter. When temps are in the 90's I grow my cacti under a 30% shade cloth, and 40% when it gets over 100. Almost all my cacti are grown in a medium consisting of 25% potting soil, 50% Turface MVP, and 25% pumice, with a few of my Mammillarias in pure Turface.

I figured I'd start off documenting my collection with my barrel cacti after a request from another member. As I find the time I'll post pics of other categories of cacti. If I have even more time I'll document my seed growing journey, which has had its ups and downs. It might not be super aesthetically pleasing in the pics, but I included a ruler to show a sense of scale.

Two Echinocactus grusonii... I know it's basic, but every collection needs a few! The bigger one is one of the first cacti I got way back in the day from a big box store, and I'm really happy with how much its grown.
Echinocactus grusonii big.jpg
Echinocactus grusonii big.jpg (282.53 KiB) Viewed 3939 times
Echinocactus grusonii little.jpg