Gymnocalycium "Triple Trouble"

Create seed of your own
CurtisMarauder

Gymnocalycium "Triple Trouble"

Post by CurtisMarauder »

Hi everyone! I'm new to the world of cacti, but I've been working fast. Recently at Walmart I came across a grafted moon cactus that was flowering. One thing led to another, and now I have three store-bought gymnos, all in various stages of flower growth.

Seen above are two G. mihanovichii, vars. friedrichii and yellow hibotan; and a G. amerhauseri.

Like any responsible plant owner would, I came up with a two-stage breeding plan to hybridize and refine these guys into whatever wacky variants I can come up with. Observe this carefully crafted chart below:

Stage 1: The two mihanovichii will be double-crossed, and some pollen from the hibotan will be refrigerated until the amerhauseri blooms. I originally wanted to cross all three of them, but I realized the pollen from the amerhauseri will not be ready by the time either mihanovichii flower opens fully.

The result will be two distinct hybrids: G. mihanovichii var. friedrichii x hibotan, and G. amerhauseri x mihanovichii. Though I don't expect these hybrids to have much phenotypical variance if at all, I'm going to plant as many as possible to ensure maximum flower yield when they mature.

Stage 2: At their earliest convenience, the resulting offspring will be cross-pollinated. The mihanovichii hybrids with themselves, the intergeneric hybrids with themselves, and a few crosses will be made of both just for the heck of it.

Seedlings of all three crosses will be monitored in case any lack chlorophyll, in which case they will be grafted to Pereskiopsis stock.

The end goal of this little experiment is twofold: (1) create some unique plants with cool variegation patterns, and (2) create offspring that present the solid yellow coloring of their hibotan ancestor and a physical structure closer to either the G. mihanovichii var. friedrichii or the G. amerhauseri.