Small intetesting cactus - but how big do these get?

If you have a cactus plant and need help identifying it, this is the place to post it.
Holmes

Small intetesting cactus - but how big do these get?

Post by Holmes »

We live in Arizona and recently bought a mixed bag of cacti for our yard, these are attractive be we do not know their name or how fast, large they grow. That specimen is 20" tall and the pot is 10" diameter FYI. It would be great if anyone here can shed light on this:

jerrytheplater

Re: Small intetesting cactus - but how big do these get?

Post by jerrytheplater »

I can't help you with the ID, but your post makes me think of a lot of questions.

Sounds like you are trying to landscape a home you may have just bought. Correct? Or no. Very exciting time for sure!

Sounds like you have not kept cacti and succulents as houseplants or even as landscape plants before. Correct? Or no. What is your gardening background-Total novice? Been growing for 10 years? Been growing for decades and propagate my own plants? The answer helps in giving advice.

Wondering if you've ever grown plants in AZ or other desert areas before? I haven't and would have to do a lot of research since all of my outdoor growing has been in New Jersey.

Did you talk to the people at the place where you bought your plants? A really great place will know the area climate and seasons and will sell you plants that will grow for you in your conditions. They are not out just to make a buck and sell you anything, even if not suitable for your area.

Buying plants that are native to your area is always the easiest. They are adapted to your conditions. Non natives can be suitable. Some can be really hard. Even when kept in pots indoors.
Jerry Smith
Bloomingdale, NJ
45 inches (114 cm) rain equivalent per year, approx. evenly spread per month
2012 USDA Hardiness Zone 6b: -5F to OF (-20C to -18C) min.
DarkSideCactus

Post by DarkSideCactus »