Black spot - rot?

Trouble shoot problems you are having with your cactus.
Srasra

Black spot - rot?

Post by Srasra »

Hi friends!
I’m fairly new to cacti and am looking for some advice.
I bought this friendo two weeks ago, had him repotted, and just this weekend noticed the base of one is turning black. I scooped away the dirt and it doesn’t go down far. The left side is unaffected. The black goes all around, but thus far is not softer than the green part.

The soil is fairly dry and I have not watered it at all as i was giving it some time after being repotted. The nursery did not water it either and the potting mix is dry.

Is this rot? If so, can I save him?
Attachments
IMG_5095.jpeg
IMG_5095.jpeg (113.37 KiB) Viewed 2195 times
Grand Rapids, mi
Steve Johnson

Re: Black spot - rot?

Post by Steve Johnson »

First of all, see this:

https://www.cactiguide.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=43819

The black area is dead tissue known as necrosis. Once it starts, it won't stop, and unfortunately your cactus won't survive since the necrosis started either in or below the base. I should also mention that your cactus is a desert species, and the potting soil needs to be leaned out with some sort of mineral gravel for free drainage and proper aeration of the roots. Pumice gravel is excellent, and you can also go with calcined clay granules (AKA Leca balls). My default recommendation is a mix of 50% soil and 50% mineral gravel. Try again with another cactus, and be sure to clean the roots as thoroughly as possible before you transplant. Avoid potting soils from a local nursery, and use this instead:

https://www.amazon.com/Rosy-Soil-Cactus ... hdGY&psc=1
If you just want photos without all the blather, please visit my Flickr gallery.
My location: Los Angeles, CA (Zone 10b)
Srasra

Post by Srasra »