Madagascar Palm wilted over

Use this forum to get advice on growing succulents and keeping them healthy
Penny

Madagascar Palm wilted over

Post by Penny »

I think this is a Madagascar palm cactus. Recently it has just wilted over. I propped it back up. Normally it it usually green but the base is more of a white/dead looking color, plus the leaves at the top have wilted. Please...please let me know if there is anything I could do to save it.

Image[/img]
MichaelCactus

Post by MichaelCactus »

Your plant is some form of Euphorbia.
To me, its dead/dyeing of maybe Rot? If it is rot, id cut the top green part off, let it callous over and replant it.

But please do not listen to me, as im only new to this. Someone else will be able to help you out much better.
Completely Confused, yet Completely Addicted.
Lewis_cacti

Post by Lewis_cacti »

Your plant is a Pachypodium. not in the best shape either. info about your' conditions would be most helpful in prescribing its complaint. it could be anything from lack of light... overwatering.. underwatering etc.
mughal113

Post by mughal113 »

I think the roots are gone...
-Mughal
CoffeeAddict

Post by CoffeeAddict »

Pachypodium Lamerii. Doesn't look good. Just bought one though for about $6.
Joe

Zone 5a/5b
CoronaCactus

Post by CoronaCactus »

I can't recall if it's all species or just some, but they can be winter growers and go dormant in the summer. If the plant has been watered sparingly overthe winter, it may be due to lack of water.

Pachypodiums can take and like more water than a cactus. When it's leaves start to get a little shriveled or droopy, it's time to water.

I hope your plant survives, but it's not looking good at this point. You may want to remove it from the pot and check it's root system. By the green at the top, it's trying to grow and that may be why the base is so thin and shriveled. It's using up all it's reserves to grow.
ihc6480

Post by ihc6480 »

Yep, seen one just like that :roll: