New member from holland

New to the forum? Use this section to introduce yourself!
Bram

New member from holland

Post by Bram »

I had a few posts already but im still new here. I'm Bram from The Netherlands, and I'm interested in cactiu because my father is a commercial cacti grower for 15 years now. We sow them ourself and grow them till there around 5,5 cm. and somtimes we let them grow to 10,5 cm. To bad because i like the big cacti.
We also have grafted cacti (mainly Gymnocalicium mihanovichii) imported from China and South Korea.
I'm also a biology student of the University of Leiden. , and i'm trying to combine one and other by some research on cacti(I've just started so don't expect much results;))

I have a little trouble with my grammar(i'm better at a normal conversation)so feel sorry to correct me.
here are some pictures:

And the website:

http://www.cactirama.nl/
Ook al klinkt het raar, als het rijmt is het waar.
topim

Post by topim »

glad to meet you bram. I'm start same you (graft red/yellow gymno) and now I'm funny to breed new Cultival from Astrophytum.

about grafting can ask me, pleas!

cheer!!

topImage
hegar

Post by hegar »

Hello Bram,
welcome to the cactus forum. I am a transplant from the neighboring country of Germany and used to live only about two car driving hours from where you are! Also, I am an ex biology major and did study for and obtain a Master of Science in the field of Horticulture. I do work with cacti, because my agency is charged with the enforcement of the CITES regulations and almost all cacti are covered by the "Convention", as it is often called. Where does your father buy all the seed that is required to keep such a big operation going? Here in the U.S. southwest many growers probably do have their own breeding stock in order to produce seed for propagation.
Do you know anything about pests and disease problems that are associated with cacti?